New Investigator Awards

These awards are made in conjunction with ISSFAL's biennial congresses. They are awarded by the meeting organisers, to encourage researchers at the start of their career to attend the meeting, and to recognise and encourage excellence in oral and poster presentations by those investigators. 

The exact nature of the awards and their numbers depend on the sponsorship support available to fund them in any particular meeting. Though the exact criteria used to decide these awards lie with the meeting organisers of each meeting, it is generally the case that such awards are open primarily to Student members of the Society. 

To become a Student member, an applicant must provide proof of his or her status as a bona fide student on a course of study (usually a higher degree) that is relevant to ISSFAL core interests. Normally confirmation from an academic supervisor is sufficient.

Coming soon!
The New Investigator Awardees from Stellenbosch 2016:

The New Investigator Awardees from Stockholm 2014:

Jeannine Baumgartner - North-West University, South Africa

Célia Bidu - UMR-INSERM/University of Burgundy, France

Chih-Chiang Chiu - Taipei City Psychiatric Center, Taipei City Hospital, Taiwan

Raphael Chouinard-Watkins - Université de Sherbrooke, Sherbrooke, Canada

Deanna Gibson - University of British Columbia Okanagan, Canada

Jacqueline Gould - Women's and Children's Health Research Institute, Australia

Brandon Hidaka - University of Kansas Medical Center, USA

Kerry Lee - University of Auckland, New Zealand

Fredrik Rosqvist - Uppsala University, Sweden

Niccolo Terrando - Karolinska Institutet, Sweden


The New Investigator Awardees from Vancouver 2012:

Eva-Maria Bachmair (UK) - 
Effect of Conjugated Linoleic Acid Supplementation on the Human Platelet Proteome

Denovan Begg (USA) - 
Thirst Deficits in Aging are Reversed by Dietary Omega-3 Fatty Acids or Cyclooxygenase Inhibition

Mariela Bernabe-Garcia (Mexico) - Enteral DHA Reduces the Need of Buprenorphine Dose in Surgical Neonates at the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit

Mariela Bernabe-Garcia (Mexico) - Evidence of Beneficial Effects of Enteral Docosahexaenoic Acid on Cytokine Production and Clinical Outcomes in Surgical Neonates

Camilla Damsgaard (Denmark) - The Effects of N-3 Long-Chain Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids on Bone Formation and Growth Factors in Adolescent Boys

Rachel Gow (USA) - 
 An investigation into LC-PUFA, Event Related Potential (ERPs) assessments of brain function and behavioural measures in children and adolescents with ADHD and healthy matched controls

Melissa Gregory (Australia) - Elongase Reactions as Control Points in Long-Chain Polyunsaturated Fatty Acid Synthesis 

Catherine Milte (Australia) - Improvements in Childhood Learning and Behaviour Accompany Increases in Omega-3 Status

Catherine Milte (Australia) - Long Chain Omega-3 Fatty Acid Supplementation Improves Cognition and Mood in Older Australians With Memory Problems

Kelly Mulder (Canada) - Evidence of Inadequate DHA During Prenatal Development Contributes to Loss of Developmental Potential in Canadian Infants

Suresh Mohankumar (Canada) - Molecular Mechanisms Underlying Conjugated Linoleic Acid-Induced Skeletal Muscle Glucose Transport

Zacharoula Nikolakopoulou (UK) - The Effect of Omega-3 Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids on Oral and Epidermal Squamous Cell Carcinoma

Sarah Orr (Canada) - Chronic and Acute Increases in Unesterified DHA are Protective in a Mouse Model of Neuroinflammation

Kuan-Pin Su (UK) - Mind-Body Interface: Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids and Somatic Symptoms in Major Depressive Disorder



The 2010 New Investigator Awardees from Maastricht:

M. Bernabe (Mexico) - Evidence of beneficial effects of enteral docosahexaenoic acid on cytokine production and clinical
outcomes in surgical neonates

P. Jackson (UK) - DHA-rich fish oil modulates cerebral haemodynamics in a dose response manner in healthy young adults

K. Su (Taiwan) - The effects of polymorphisms in phospholipase a2 and cyclo-oxygenase 2 genes on interferon-alphainduced
depression and polyunsaturated fatty acids levels

Giuseppe Astarita (USA) - Deficient liver biosynthesis of docosahexaenoic acid correlates with
cognitive impairment in alzheimer’s disease

M. Gregory (Australia) - Cloning and functional characterisation of the fatty acyl elovl2 and elovl5 from rat

C. Coomans (Netherlands) - Brain insulin signaling promotes fatty acid uptake by adipose tissue

J. Lambert (Canada) - Islet transplant patients do not respond to hypolipidemic dietary
intervention role of hepatic de novo lipogenesis

C. Childs (UK) - The DHA content of rat liver phospholipids are significantly higher when an
alpha-linolenic acid rich diet is provided during pregnancy

R. Kuipers (Netherlands) - The relation between DHA and AA is synergistic at low DHA status
and antagonistic at high DHA status


The full list of all 63 New Investigator Awardees prior to 2010 (with mentor's name) is:

Sarah Abbott, (A. J.Hulbert),University of Wollongong,Wollongong,NSW,Australia

Martin-Paul Agbaga, (Robert E.Anderson),University of Oklahoma,Oklahoma City,Oklahoma,USA

Anita Royneberg Alvheim, (Livar Froyland),University of Bergen , Bergen,Norway

Alpesh Amin, (William S.Harris),University of Kansas Medical Center and University of South Dakota,Kansas City, Kansas and Sioux Falls, South Dakota,USA

Hildur Arnardottir, (Ingibjorg Hardardottir),University of Iceland,Reykjavik, Iceland

Gwendolyn Barcelo-Coblijn, (Pablo V. Escribá),University of the Balearic Islands, Palma de Mallorca, Spain

Maria Laura Belaunzarán, (Elvira L.Durante de Isola),University of Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires,Argentina

Michael Bennett, (Drake C.Mitchell),National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism,NIH,Bethesda,Maryland,USA

Joanne Bradbury, (Stephen P.Myers),University of Queensland, Brisbane,Australia

Dehua Cao, (Hee-Yong Kim),National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism,NIH,Rockville,Maryland,USA

Carol Cheatham, (Susan E.Carlson),University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City, Kansas,USA

Jinghai Chen, (William S.Harris),University of South Dakota, Sioux Falls, South Dakota,USA

Dany Chevalier, (Michel Lhermitte),University of Lille, Lillle, France

Caroline Childs, (P.C.Calder),University of Southampton, Southampton,UK

Rebecca Cook-Johnson, (Les Cleland & Michael James),Royal Adelaide Hospital,Adelaide,Adelaide, SA,Australia

Camilla Damsgaard, (Lotte Lauritzen),University of Copenhagen,Copenhagen,Denmark

Jane Deeley, (Stephen Blanksby),University of Wollongong,Wollongong,NSW,Australia

James Drover, (Eileen E. Birch),University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center,Dallas,Texas,USA

Carla Dullemeijer, (Frans J. Kok),Wageningen University,Wageningen,The Netherlands

Alison Fear, (P.C.Calder),University of Southampton, Southampton,UK

Cassandra Forsythe, (Jeff Volek),University of Connecticut, Storrs,Connecticut,USA

Julia Geppert, (Kebreab Ghebremeskel), London Metropolitan University, London,UK

Rachael Gibbs, (D. Ian Givens),University of Reading,Reading,UK

Melissa Gregory, (Robert Gibson), Flinders University, SA,Australia

Kei Hamazaki, (Hee-Yong Kim),National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism,NIH,Rockville,Maryland,USA

Bill Huang, (Hee-Yong Kim),National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism,NIH,Rockville,Maryland,USA

E-Chu Huang, (Jay Whelan),University of Tennessee, Knoxville,Tennessee,USA

Giorgis Isaac, (Ruth Welti), Kansas State University,Manhattan, Kansas,USA

Philippa Jackson, (David O. Kennedy),Northumbria University,Newcastle-upon-Tyne,UK

Susan Kary, (Susan E.Carlson),University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City, Kansas,USA